safe logo


Bo Norrving, MD1; Jon Barrick, MBA;2 Antoni Davalos, MD;3 Martin Dichgans, MD;4 Charlotte Cordonnier, MD;5 Jill Farrington, MD;6 Alla Guekht, MD;7 Kursad Kutluk, MD;8 Robert Mikulik, MD;9 Joanna Wardlaw, MD;10 Edo Richard, MD;11 Darius Nabavi, MD;12 Carlos Molina, MD;13 Philip Bath, FMedSci;14 Katharina Stibrant Sunnerhagen MD;15 Anthony Rudd, FRCP;16 Avril Drummond, PhD;17 Anna Planas, MD; 18 Valeria Caso, MD,19 on behalf of the Action Plan for Stroke in Europe working group*

*See Appendix 1 for the full list of the working group members.


1Department of Clinical Sciences Lund, Neurology, Skåne University Hospital, Lund University, Lund, Sweden; 2Stroke Alliance for Europe, London, UK; 3Department of Neurosciences,

Hospital Universitari Germans Trias i Pujol, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona, Spain; 4Institute for Stroke and Dementia Research, University Hospital, Ludwig-Maximilians University, Munich, German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE, Munich), Munich, and Munich Cluster of Systems Neurology (SyNergy), Munich, Germany; 5Department of Neurology, CHU Lille, Lille, France; 6World Health Organisation, Copenhagen, Denmark; 7Clinical Center for Neuropsychiatry, Russian National Research Medical University, Moscow, Russia; 8Department of Neurology, Stroke Unit, University of Dokuz Eylul, Izmir, Turkey; 9International Clinical Research Center and Neurology Department, St Anne's University Hospital Brno and Masaryk University Brno, Czech Republic; 10Centre for Clinical Neurosciences, Edinburgh Imaging and UK Dementia Research Institute, University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK; 11Department of Neurology, Radboud University Medical Center, Nijmegen, and department of Neurology, Academic Medical Centre, Amsterdam, the Netherlands; 12Department of Neurology with stroke unit, Vivantes Hospital Neukölln, Berlin, Germany; 13Stroke Unit, Department of Neurology, Hospital Vall d´Hebron Barcelona, Spain; 14Stroke Trials Unit, Division of Clinical Neuroscience, University of Nottingham, Nottingham, UK; ), 15Institute of Neuroscience and Physiology, Sahlgrenska University Hospital, Gothenburg, Sweden;  16Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, Stroke NHS England and Royal College of Physicians, London, UK; 17School of Health Sciences, University of Nottingham, UK; 18Institut d'Investigacions Biomèdiques de Barcelona (IIBB), Institut d'Investigacions Biomèdiques August Pi i Sunyer (IDIBAPS), Barcelona, Spain; 19Stroke Unit, Department of Medicine and Cardiovascular Medicine, University of Perugia, Perugia, Italy.

Short title:

European Stroke Action Plan (ESAP)

Correspondence to Bo Norrving, MD, Department of Clinical Sciences, Neurology, Department of Neurology, Skåne University Hospital, S-221 86 Lund, Sweden, Tel +46 70 538 11 43, e-mail: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

*See Appendix 1 for the full list of the working group members.

Website by mzlaki logo Studio Mzlaki